Location: Virginia

Age at diagnosis: 50

Diagnosis: Cervical cancer (unspecified)

Stage of cancer: IV

How my story begins: At age 49 my periods seemed to have gotten worse! I figured I was getting ready to hit menopause. In September 2022, my mom had carotid artery surgery and I stayed at her house for a week. When I returned home I started bleeding and passing clots as big as pancakes. It eased up I made a doctor appointment with a gyno and at first the plan was a hysterectomy and then when he looked he said I had cervical cancer. I was sent to a gyn oncologist who said that's what it was. After a pet scan MRI it was decided chemo would be the best option. I did 6 and started immune therapy then my brother got sick and now I have a vaginal tumor and I'm awaiting a pet scan and a plan!

Life before my diagnosis: I am 52 I went to college at 45 graduated with a bachelor's in Criminal Justice I lack 2 credit for my masters degree .I worked with Domestic abuse victims and spent time schooling my grandkids who range in ages 15-7..My husband owned a tree company and I also know that trade.I also have helped my mother through every step of her illness..I enjoyed working and being a part of my grand kids schooling

How I felt after diagnosis: Scared, confused and I thought I was going to die! Never been so scared and I just cried, worried, and didn't sleep. I prayed for God to help me.

Telling my family and friends: Hardest thing ever was telling my kids who were worried; my mother was worried and my husband said he didn't understand and I don't deserve this.

My treatment: Chemo cocktail and immune therapy and now waiting for treatment plan.

How I felt after treatment: Wonderful! Better and all symptoms subsided! Looked healthy.

What was most difficult for me: The changes physically and adjusting my life to treatment; modifying the way I eat and the care I need.

What I did to help myself: Prayed. Read the bible and joined a support group on Facebook. Made some great friends, real sisters.

My life after cancer: I am in a reoccurrence as of June 24 2024.

Where I am today: I am living the best life, praying, keeping my faith, and talking about my feelings.

What I want other women to know: I want others to know that even though we go through C, it can't take away who we are and it can't take away our love for others.

How I will try to help others: I encourage all women to not skip any pap tests, pay attention to changes, and go to the doctor. I am spreading awareness and warning other young and older women to not be Jennifer and go get checked!

Any additional information you'd like to share: I want to know as much as possible about Cervivor and share and advocate for quick scans and treatment and support other women! Cancer is scary and the more information you have to share the better off you will be.