Location: Illinois

Cancerversary: February 2021

Age at diagnosis: 32

Diagnosis: Squamous cell carcinoma

Stage of cancer: IB2

How my story begins: I had postponed my doctor's appointment due to the pandemic but knew something was wrong. My body felt different. I had always had irregular menstrual cycles but this felt different.

Telling my family and friends: I told my family and friends in January 2021. I was very emotional and scared but knew that I had their support.

My treatment: With my team of doctors I decided to have a total abdominal hysterectomy.

How I felt after treatment: After treatment I was nervous that it may have spread or that I would need more intensive treatment.

What was most difficult for me: My scar and limited mobility was the most immediate difficulty I incurred. I also had recurring UTI the first year after my surgery. I also had to see a physical therapist, lymphedema specialist, urologist, and colorectal doctor in addition to my regular oncologist checkups.

What I did to help myself: I colored, crafted, read books and watched The Golden Girls.

My life after cancer: I cuddled with my husband and kids more. I went back to work full time as a math teacher in middle school.

Where I am today: I am cancer free and doing my best to spend quality time, stay healthy, and active.

What I want other women to know: I want other women to know that no matter how busy and hectic life gets, we must make time to take care of ourselves.

How I will try to help others: I share my story and encourage women to have their yearly Pap tests.